SNIA Committees

SNIA Committees are small groups that meet regularly to work on issues important to the community—from safety and crime prevention to dog park maintenance and neighborhood promotion—and are a great way to get involved and meet other Shaw residents. Committee volunteers generally serve for at least one year and commit to attend regular meetings and work on projects outside the committee meeting times. Meeting schedules are determined by the individual committee. Work load varies by committee.

      • Art Fair—Chairs: Ben Mudd 
        Committee members plan the Historic Shaw Art Fair, which is held every fall.
      • Beautification—Chair: Byron Keelin
        Plans, promotes, and completes projects to keep Shaw clean and blooming.
      • Block Captain Liaison – Chair: Jenny Gerstner
        Volunteer to represent your block. Block captains are also SNIA board members.
      • Shaw Socials Coordinator: open
        Plans social events, including the popular Shaw Young Professionals happy hours.
      • Dog Park – Chair: Denise Evans
        Manages maintenance and membership of the Shaw Dog Park.
      • Communications—Chair: Nadia Ghasedi
        Promotes and manages information related to Shaw and SNIA within the neighborhood and throughout St. Louis, including managing the web and social media platforms.
      • Membership – Chairs : Jan Tucker & Sue Raney
        Promotes membership in the Shaw Neighborhood Improvement Association.
      • Safety—Chair: open
        Works with the Police Department, prosecuting attorney, neighborhood stabilization officer and alderman to prevent and address crime.
      • Shaw Community Center Coordinator: Stefanie Moore
      • Shaw Community Conversations Chair: open
        Shaw Conversations are frequent and ongoing opportunities for open and honest conversations among ALL Shaw Neighborhood residents regarding issues of social inequality. Click here for more information.
      • Youth – Erin Herrera


Send any committee chair a note with the form below!